To read, reading, read.

Life has been full lately leaving little time to do one of my favorite things, read. My Goodreads TBR list keeps growing and I keep adding books to my “Currently reading” list and have not gotten a chance to review any of the ones I have finished.

I am currently reading Beneath The Stain part Two by Amy Lane. It is a serialized book that is being released in seven parts. I adore Amy Lane.  She is an awesome writer and is known by her tagline Amy Lane:  Angst and Pain.  One thing I have always been able to count on after the angst and pain is a happy ending.  I am hoping these guys get theirs too.  So far I am loving this series.

Beneath The Stain Amy LaneTitle: Beneath the Stain (Beneath the Stain – Serial #1-7)
Author: Amy Lane
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Genre: m/m, rockstar, angst,contemporary, Awesome Amy Lane
Published: In a series with first release August 29. Expected full release October 17, 2014
Where to buy: DreamspinnerPress
In a town as small as Tyson, CA, everybody knew the four brothers with the four different fathers– and their penchant for making good music when they weren’t getting into trouble. For Mackey Sanders, playing in Outbreak Monkey with his brothers and their friends—especially Grant Adams–made Tyson bearable. But Grant has plans for getting Mackey and the Sanders boys out of Tyson, even if that means staying behind.

Between the heartbreak of leaving Grant and the terrifying, glamorous life of rock stardom, Mackey is adrift and sinking fast. When he’s hit rock bottom, Trav Ford shows up, courtesy of their record company and a producer who wants to see what Mackey can do if he doesn’t flame out first. But cleaning up his act means coming clean about Grant, and that’s not easy to do or say. Mackey might make it with Trav’s help–but Trav’s not sure he’s going to survive falling in love with Mackey.

Mackey James Sanders comes with a whole lot of messy, painful baggage, and law-and-order Trav doesn’t do messy or painful. And just when Trav thinks they may have mastered every demon in Mackey’s past, the biggest, baddest demon of all comes knocking.

A novella that I just finished is by another author I go to for happy stories, Cardeno C.  Her new series is Hope and the first book is McFarland’s Farm.
Title: McFarlands Farm (Hope#1)McFarland's Farm Cardeno C.
Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher:The Romance Authors
Published:September 10th 2014
Pages: 56 pages
Where to buy: amazonBuyButton
Genre: Contemporary, m/m

My rating: 4 stars
Wealthy, attractive Lucas Reika treats life like a party, moving from bar to bar and man to man. Thumbing his nose at his restaurateur father’s demand that he earn his keep, Lucas instead seduces a valued employee in the kitchen of their flagship restaurant, earning himself an ultimatum: lose access to his father’s money or stay in the middle of nowhere with a man he has secretly lusted over from afar.

Quiet, hard-working Jared McFarland loves his farm on the outskirts of Hope, Arizona, but he aches to have someone to come home to at the end of the day. Jared agrees to take in his longtime crush as a favor. But when Lucas invades his heart in addition to his space, Jared has to decide how much of himself he’s willing to risk and figure out if he can offer Lucas enough to keep him after his father’s punishment is over.
I enjoyed this one very much. Jared McFarland is an endearing character. He is a down to earth, hardworking, kind soul that has devoted his life to his farm and loves the little community of Hope, Arizona. When he is presented with an offer he really can’t refuse he ends up with an unwelcome guest in the form of spoiled,but handsome Lucas Reika. They have a history through people they know and an unspoken attraction to one another. It moves fairly quickly but I enjoyed watching Lucas and Jared interact and although I was not certain about the transformation that Lucas went through would last, they were fun together and I was invested in their happy ending.

I have been on a roll with good books.  One I was eagerly awaiting release of was:
Title: Duck, Duck, Ghost (Hellsinger #2)
Author: Rhys Ford
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Published: September 8th 2014
Word/page count: 240 pages
Genre: m/m, contemporary, paranormal
My rating: 5 stars
Where to buy:

Paranormal investigator Wolf Kincaid knows what his foot tastes like.

Mostly because he stuck it firmly in his mouth when his lover, Tristan Pryce, accidentally drugged him with a batch of psychotropic baklava. Needing to patch things up between them, Wolf drags Tristan to San Luis Obispo, hoping Tristan’s medium ability can help evict a troublesome spirit haunting an old farmhouse.

With Wolf’s sister handling Hoxne Grange’s spectral visitors, Tristan finds himself in the unique position of being able to leave home for the first time in forever, but Wolf’s roughshod treatment is the least of his worries. Tristan’s ad-hoc portal for passing spirits seems to be getting fewer and fewer guests, and despite his concern he’s broken his home, Tristan agrees to help Wolf’s cousin, Sey, kick her poltergeist to the proverbial curb.

San Luis Obispo brings its own bushel of troubles. Tristan’s ghost whispering skill is challenged not only by a terrorizing haunting but also by Wolf’s skeptical older cousin, Cin. Bookended by a pair of aggressive Kincaids, Tristan soon finds himself in a spectral battle that threatens not only his sanity but also his relationship with Wolf, the first man he’s ever loved.

Rhys Ford can do scary! She has written some pretty gruesome bad guys in her other series and the ghost in this book is creepy! I loved it. She also rounds it out with humor, eccentric characters, steamy romance and sweet emotions. Duck, Duck Ghost picks up with Tristan and Wolf after Fish & Ghost (Hellsinger #1) Things have not gone as planned for those two and in an attempt to reconcile they wind up visiting one of Wolf’s relatives to help with a possible haunting. The writing is fast paced and the characters and descriptions are rich and vivid. I enjoyed this one just as much or more than the first book. It does end with a slight cliff hanger. The story arc for this book is wrapped up but the cliff hanger sets up the next book and it was tantalizing and not anything that felt like I was left hanging. I can’t wait to see where Ms Ford takes our guys next!


I have three more that I have read but those will have to wait for now.


Happy Reading


coffee and books 1 smaller

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s